Apply for
Logo for Print


  • Share
    • Email

The four bears mounted here include the Alaskan Brown bear, the Grizzly bear, the Black bear, and the Polar bear. The Black bear is the only bear that currently inhabits California. It eats grasses, insects, honey, rodents, and birds’ eggs.

The Alaskan brown and Grizzly bears are closely related. They eat honey, rodents, larger mammals, roots, and salmon. Unlike popular belief, these bears do not hibernate, and can be easily awakened in the winter.

The Polar bear lives in the Arctic, and eats seals, walrus, fish, birds, and stranded whales. Unlike other bears, they spend most of their time swimming, rather than walking on land.

Latest Update

Please enable Javascript to see the latest facebook update.

Featured Video