Campus Clubs

Clubs are a way for students to connect with people that share similar interests. Clubs are supported by the Associated Students with access to campus facilities, Associated Student funding, and much more! Being part of a club is a great way to find a place to belong and have fun on campus.

Look below for our list of existing Rocklin clubs. Nothing here that interests you? Forming your own club is simple! Find out how to make a new club by stopping by the Campus Life Office (J7, next to the cafeteria).

Nevada County Campus Clubs are listed on their web page.

Our Campus Clubs

American Medical Student Association (AMSA)

To promote, encourage and provide membership services for physicians-in-training. To seek, develop and provide membership services to the physicians-in-training community. To provide members with up to date accurate information regarding required courses, application processes and transfer agreements for premedical students. To provide informal tutoring and premedical student related coursework assistance. To seek out and provide volunteer opportunities in relevant clinical and healthcare settings.

Advisor: Aviva Shackell, ashachell@sierracollege.edu

Contact us at amsa.sc.chapter@gmail.com and follow us on Facebook!

American Sign Language (ASL)

To give the members the opportunity to socialize and learn among peers and the deaf community using the target language (ASL). The expose members to Deaf culture and ASL in a real-life setting, as well as become involved with the Deaf community.

Advisor: Rachel Gerlis, rgerlis@sierracollege.edu

American Welding Society

Introduce students to the concepts and the process of welding. To foster curiosity in students who may have ever been introduced to the opportunities that welding may offer.

Advisors: Bill Wenzel, bwenzel@sierracollege.edu and Scott Berry, sberry@sierracollege.edu

Astronomy

To increase interest in Astronomy from both students and surrounding community members in the various activities that Sierra College has to offer.

Advisor: David Dunn, ddunn@sierracollege.edu

Automotive

To educate students about the automobile industry, club projects and enrich student’s knowledge.

Advisor: Alex Wong, awong@sierracollege.edu

Badminton

To promote fellowship among Sierra College students who enjoy badminton as a recreation sport.

Advisors: Rob Willson, rwillson@sierracollege.edu and Linda Belton, lbelton@sierracollege.edu

Beyond Diversity

To promote a Sierra College campus that sincerely honors individuals because (not despite) of their cultural differences by advancing the moral imperative of respect and dignity for all persons through the elimination of oppression and inequality.

Advisor: Matt Archer, marcher@sierracollege.edu

Business

Encourage students to connect and become active members in the surrounding business community. To enrich students’ learning experience, promote exploration of jobs and other opportunities, networking and building relationships.

Advisor: Anne Diamond, adiamond@sierracollege.edu

Chemistry

To promote chemistry in the community, on campus and to network with other science students.

Advisors: Rhiannon Porter, rporter@sierracollege.edu and Sue Kurnett, skurnett@sierracollege.edu

Cinema League

Advisors: Angelina Coughlin, acoughlin@sierracollege.edu

Computer Engineering

To provide an educational outlet for aspiring Computer and Electrical Engineers by projects involving microcontrollers, circuits, and low level programming. 

Advisor: Barry Brown, bbrown@sierracollege.edu

CRU

The purpose is to build movement of the people who are transformed by Jesus Christ. The student-led movement seeking to introduce students to Jesus Christ, help them to grow in their faith, encourage them to live life passionately under the lordship of Christ, and inspire commitment to advancing the purpose of God in the world.

Advisor: James Strode, jstrode@sierracollege.edu

Den

Advisor: Jason Gantt, jgantt@sierracollege.edu

Disability Awareness 

A club for students with or without disabilities that promotes that students with disabilities are an essential and crucial part of a diverse campus community. The D.S.A. provides a forum for social activities, leadership development, networking, student advocacy, and disability awareness on campus.

Advisors: Scott Bramlett, sbramlett@sierracollege.edu, Martine Shelley, mshelley@sierracollege.edu, Jennie Longmire, jlongmire@sierracollege.edu, and Brigitte Elder, belder@sierracollege.edu

Drama

To promote the appreciation for the dramatic arts.

Advisor: Debra Hammond, dhammond@sierracollege.edu

Dream

To provide support to undocumented students while they attend Sierra College. Make students aware of the opportunities that have is they apple to Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA). Help students apply for financial aid (CA Dream Act). Inform students about scholarships available to them. Coordinate field trips to AB540/Dream Act/DACA conventions that are taking place out of school. Engage in fundraising activities for AB540 student scholarships.

Advisor: Sandi Escobar, sescobar@sierracollege.edu

Early Childhood Education (ECE)

To involve students at a more in-depth level of understanding concerning issues within the study and field of human development, child development and early childhood education. Students will meet on a regular basis to discuss pertinent current events and changing taking place according to established professional’s organizations advocating for children and families.

Advisors: Debra Eastman, deastman@sierracollege.edu and Shelly Boucher, mboucher@sierracollege.edu

Economics

To provide its members the opportunity to engage in intelligent and informed debate on political topics.

Advisor: Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu

Engineering and Physics

To introduce students to the concepts and process of design and fabrication and to foster curiosity in students who may be otherwise intimidated by Physics and /or Engineering.

Advisor: Philip Pattengale, ppattengale@sierracollege.edu 

Environmentally Concerned Organization of Students (ECOS)

To support and promote environmental advocacy, sustainability, stewardship and education.

Advisor: Shawna Martinez, smartinez@sierracollege.edu and Kristine Gilbert, kgilbert@sierracollege.edu

Evidence Bible

To bring people together as a collective group to study, discuss and present the Bible and the matters it contains and how it applies to our lives today.

Advisor: Dan Knepp, dknepp@sierracollege.edu

Fashion

To help and further the education of its participants. The club will discuss latest fashion trends, current events, and schools that are primarily focused on fashion design and merchandising. It will also serve as a place for students to go to discuss fashion and go on fashion related trips.

Advisors: Diane Higashi, dhigashi@sierracollege.edu

Feminist Action

To increase feminist consciousness and action among students.

Advisor: Megan Seeley, mseely@sierracollege.edu and Angie Coughlin, acoughlin1@sierracollege.edu

French

To promote education for French language, culture, and social issues on campus. The French Club shall be a place for people who enjoy all things French to come together and form a community.

Advisor: Laurence Lambert, llambert@sierracollege.edu

Grace and Truth

To teach the Bible to college students through the dissemination of biblical literature, personal and group contact and study of the biblical text.

Advisor: Ron Morris, rmorris8@sierracollege.edu

International Connections TRITOS

Advisors: Katie Juras, kjuras@sierracollege.edu, and Kristen Lopez, kkawada@sierracollege.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

To establish and advance at Sierra College a witnessing community of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God, God’s Word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture, and God’s purpose in the world.

Advisor: Randy Snook, rsnook@sierracollege.edu 

Japanese Culture 

The purpose of this club is to celebrate, share and learn Japanese culture.

Advisor: Makiko Mochizoki, mmochizoki@sierracollege.edu

KSCM

To provide students a hub to become informed about school events, local and cultural events, and promote clubs, on and off campus, activities.

Advisor: Nicholas Zoffel, nzoffel@sierracollege.edu

Math

To provide a fun, structured, peer to peer teaching environment where the concepts and practices of discrete math are taught.

Advisor: Dan Balaguy, dbalaguy@sierracollege.edu

Meditation, Consciousness, and Lucid Dreams

To practice meditation, develop awareness, expand consciousness, and improve the sense of peace and harmony within ourselves. 

Advisor: Richard Valdez, rvaldez@sierracollege.edu

Microbiology

To promote student interest and student success among the allied health and microbiology students of Sierra College. To further improve the quality of Microbiology programs, promote interest in the sciences, related fields of microbiology, and associated allied health professions within the district. 

Advisors: Harriet Wilson, hwilson@sierracollege.edu and Laura Brahce, lbrahce@sierracollege.edu

Model U.N.

To provide information on the United Nations and any country involved, show academic excellence, and attend Model UN conferences. 

Advisor: Michael Deaver, mdeaver@sierracollege.edu

Music

To create an environment that will allow musicians a place to promote collaborations and constructive criticism.

Advisor: Greg McLaughlin, gmclaughlin@student.sierracollege.edu

Native American

To promote and advocate a greater awareness and presence of Native Americans and their cultures at Sierra college. Enhance and promote the educational experience at Sierra College for members, especially with regard to available benefits and opportunities for Native Americans and other club members. Expose student members to cultural, educational, social opportunities and provide a center of gathering for sharing cultural diversity at Sierra College.

Advisors: Dianna Tiger, dtiger2@sierracollege.edu, Matt Archer, marcher@sierracollege.edu and Tamara Cheshire, tcheshire@sierracollege.edu

Philosophy

To encourage students to join others like them in exploring personal philosophy and working together to spread them into our community.

Advisor: Andrew Fix, afix@sierracollege.edu

Phi Theta Kappa

The promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service and cultivation of fellowship among qualified students at Sierra College.

Advisor: Jason File, jfile@sierracollege.edu

Political Science

To promote an environment of students that are politically concerned, by hosting various events such as: forums, debates, guest speakers, and provide information pertaining to upcoming local, state, and federal government elections.

Advisor: Michael Deaver, mdeaver@sierracollege.edu

Project Unity

To foster a sense of community among all students of the African Diaspora at Sierra college and to stimulate the intellectual, political, cultural, and social growth. This club is open to people of all ethnic backgrounds. 

Advisors: Wayne Robinson, wrobinson4@sierracollege.edu and Tanya Times, ttimes@sierracollege.edu

Psychology

We are a chapter of PSI BETA (National Honor Society specifically for psychology majors at community colleges) and our goal is to provide an enthusiastic and inspirational atmosphere in which all students and /or faculty members can further their knowledge and interest in psychology.

Advisors: Robin Akawi, rakawi@sierracollege.edu 

Public Safety 

To serve the community and each other, to connect the club and community, to strengthen minds, bodies, and leadership skills.

Advisors: Matthew Jewett, mjewett@sierracollege.edu and Corey Morgan, cmorgan7@sierracollege.edu

Puente 

To foster leadership development through the coordination of educational and awareness projects thru mentoring and roundtable discussions.

Advisors: Reyes Ortega, reyesortega@sierracollege.edu and Jason Roberts, jroberts@sierracollege.edu

We meet every Monday from 2:00pm-3:00pm at Room J-7 (located inside ASSC Office).

Rainbow Alliance

To promote club activities and events that are centered about activism, support groups, social activities, and/or tolerance and education.

Advisors: Johnnie Terry, terry@sierracollege.edu and Megan Randolph, mrandolph5@sierracollege.edu

Rise

To provide extracurricular activities and fun events for students within the RISE program.

Advisor: Jason Sumi, RISE@sierracollege.edu

Robotics

To promote the study and provide hands-on experience in the field of robotics by designing and building functional robots. Our main focus will be on participating in robot competitions and educating our members in all of the underlying technologies.

Advisor: Tony Osladil, tosladil@sierracollege.edu

Rotaract

To develop professional and leadership goals or all useful occupations.

Advisor: Todd Jensen, tjensen@sierracollege.edu

Salam

To create community in addition to challenging Islamophobia as well as addressing any misconceptions toward religion.

Advisor: Jen Vernon, jvernon@sierracollege.edu

Secular Student Alliance

The Secular Student Alliance empowers secular students to proudly express their identity, build welcoming communities, promote secular values, and set a course for lifelong activism. We envision a future in which secular students lead meaningful and fulfilling lives, thrive as valued members of society, and provide visionary leadership committed to humanistic ideals and critical inquiry.

Advisors: Rebecca Quinn, rquinn@sierracollege.edu 

Sierra International Life

To assist and support international and ESL students who are living in a new culture.  The club also facilitates TalkTimes and activities where multicultural students have the opportunities to interact with other students, make the most of their academic years in the USA, and have opportunities to work in a group and practice leadership.

Advisors: Ted Saur, tsaur@sierracollege.edu and Denise Saur, tsaur@sierracollege.edu

Sierra Outdoor Recreation (SORC)

To promotes awareness, education and participation with the natural environment in group settings.  It focuses on outdoor activities and physical activity as a means to enhance student participation, leadership and education.

Advisor: Richard Valdez, rvaldez@sierracollege.edu and Chuck Ferguson, cferguson@sierracollege.edu

Student Nurses Association 

To collaborate as future and existing registered nurses, to convey standards, ethics, and skills needed as responsible, accountable and committed leaders and members of the profession. Service: serve communities local & abroad.  Collaboration: collaborate educationally and professionally, as classmates, with faculty, and as nurses with various organizations within our communities. Leadership: develop leaders in nursing ethically, socially, educationally and politically.

Advisors: Sabina Karr, skarr@sierracollege.edu and Dianna Hylton, dhyton1@sierracollege.edu

Students Taking On Poverty "Against Poverty"

To advocate and promote awareness of poverty and its effect on society. To be a resource for students interested in volunteering/service projects, advocacy and awareness events globally, nationally and in our state and local communities.

Advisor: Christian Jardine, cjardine@sierracollege.edu 

Student Veterans 

To promote camaraderie professionalism and education among Veterans, Veteran Supporters and Dependents of Veterans.

Advisor: Blake Rood, brood@sierracollege.edu

Sustainable Ag Society

Advisor: Patti Kiehl, pkiehl@sierracollege.edu and Kurt Voigt, kvoigt@sierracollege.edu

Yoga

To practice yoga, meditation, pi gong, and relaxation. 

Advisor: Janet Rankin, jrankin5@sierracollege.edu

Young Americans for Liberty

To train, educate, and mobilize youth activists committed to “winning on principal”. Our goal is to cast the leaders of tomorrow and reclaim the policies, candidates and direction of our government.

Advisor: Mike Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu