Campus Clubs

Campus Clubs

Clubs are a way for students to connect with people that share similar interests. Clubs are supported by the Associated Students with access to campus facilities, Associated Student funding, and much more! Being part of a club is a great way to find a place to belong and have fun on campus.

Nothing here that interests you? Forming your own club is simple! Find out how to start a new club by stopping by the Campus Life Office (J7, next to the cafeteria).

 

Our Campus Clubs

To promote, encourage and provide membership services for physicians-in-training. To seek, develop and provide membership services to the physicians-in-training community. To provide members with up-to-date, accurate information regarding required courses, application processes, and transfer agreements for premedical students. To provide informal tutoring and premedical student-related coursework assistance. To seek out and provide volunteer opportunities in relevant clinical and healthcare settings.

Advisor: Emine Gunhan, egunhan@sierracollege.edu

Contact us at: amsa.sierracollege@gmail.com and follow us on Facebook.

Introduce students to the concepts and the process of welding. To foster curiosity in students who may have ever been introduced to the opportunities that welding may offer.

Advisors: Bill Wenzel, bwenzel@sierracollege.edu and Scott Berry, sberry@sierracollege.edu

To increase interest in Astronomy from both students and surrounding community members in the various activities that Sierra College has to offer.

Advisor: David Dunn, ddunn@sierracollege.edu

To educate students about the automobile industry, club projects and enrich student’s knowledge.

Advisor: Lee Snorteland, lsnorteland@sierracollege.edu

To foster a sense of community among all students of the African Diaspora at Sierra College and to stimulate the intellectual, political, cultural, and social growth. This club is open to all Sierra College Students.

Advisors: Tonya Times ttimes@sierracollege.edu, Allisha Crockett acrockett@sierracollege.edu and Wayne Robinson wrobinson4@sierracollege.edu

The mission of the board game club is to promote socialization among students and within clubs at Sierra College through board games and other similar and fun activities. This will allow students to network more, gain friends, and improve mental health on campus.

Advisor: Daniel Balaguy dbalaguy@sierracollege.edu 

To promote chemistry in the community, on campus and to network with other science students.

Advisors: Rhiannon Porter, rporter@sierracollege.edu and Sue Kurnett, skurnett@sierracollege.edu

Encourage students to connect and become active members of the surrounding business community. To enrich students’ learning experience and promote exploration of jobs and other opportunities, including networking and building relationships.

Advisor: Anne Diamond, adiamond@sierracollege.edu

Meeting Days: First and third Thursday of every month

Meeting Location: C-8

To support and promote environmental advocacy, sustainability, stewardship and education.

Advisor: Shawna Martinez, smartinez@sierracollege.edu and Kristine Gilbert, kgilbert@sierracollege.edu

The purpose and function of this organization is to first and foremost promote fashion education, discussion, and creation throughout Sierra College. The club will meet together to discuss fashion trends and events, learn from industry professionals and speakers, and organize events on campus.

Advisors: Diana Higashi, dhigashi@sierracollege.edu and Kellie Schultz

To increase feminist consciousness and action among students.

Advisor: Megan Seeley, mseely@sierracollege.edu and Angie Coughlin, acoughlin1@sierracollege.edu

To teach the Bible to college students through the dissemination of biblical literature, personal and group contact and study of the biblical text.

Advisor: Ron Morris, rmorris8@sierracollege.edu

To establish and advance at Sierra College a witnessing community of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God, God’s Word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture, and God’s purpose in the world.

Advisor: Randy Snook, rsnook@sierracollege.edu 

To provide students a hub to become informed about school events, local and cultural events, activities and to promote clubs, on and off campus.

Advisor: To be announced

To provide a fun, structured, peer to peer teaching environment where the concepts and practices of discrete math are taught.

Advisor: Dan Balaguy, dbalaguy@sierracollege.edu

To promote student interest and student success among the allied health and microbiology students of Sierra College. To further improve the quality of Microbiology programs, promote interest in the sciences, related fields of microbiology, and associated allied health professions within the district. 

Advisors: Harriet Wilson, hwilson@sierracollege.edu and Laura Brahce, lbrahce@sierracollege.edu

To celebrate creative writing and literature, to edit and publish the Sierra Journal.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!

Advisors: Chris Hall, chall14@sierracollege.edu and Robert Roden, rroden@sierracollege.edu

Our club promotes and advocates greater awareness and presence of Native Americans and Pacific Islanders at Sierra College. We meet weekly each semester with the goal of exposing members to cultural, educational and social opportunities. We hold the Annual Sierra College Big Time and Indigenous Peoples’ Days Events, participate in community activities, attend conferences and offer educational presentations. Additionally, we invite artists, activists and scholars from the Native American community to speak at our campus.

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram!

Advisors: Dianna Tiger, dtiger2@sierracollege.edu, Matt Archer, marcher@sierracollege.edu and Melissa Leal, mleal@sierracollege.edu 

The purpose of the Sierra College Physics and Engineering Club (S.C.P.E.C.) is to introduce the students to the concepts and the process of design and fabrication and to foster curiosity in students who may be otherwise intimidated by Physics and/or Engineering. This can be achieved through development and design of simple mechanical devices, through increased interaction between the club and the local communities of Sacramento, through the increased interaction between the Physics and Engineering club and societies, through increased interaction between the club and the faculty of the Physics and Engineering Departments, and most importantly, among club members. Through these interactions, we can increase the campus’ and community’s knowledge and awareness of both physics and engineering as a relevant, engaging, and familiar sciences, so that a more positive attitude concerning these disciplines remains. At the same time, our members can be exposed to a greater understanding of the various facilities, ideas, and opportunities of the S.C.P.E.C., campus, and surrounding community. Additionally, members of the club will be exposed to all the opportunities that the Physics and Engineering Departments offer to their students.

Advisor: Philip Pattengale, ppattengale@sierracollege.edu

The promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service and cultivation of fellowship among qualified students at Sierra College.

Advisor: Jason File, jfile@sierracollege.edu

To promote an environment of students that are politically concerned, by hosting various events such as: forums, debates, guest speakers, and provide information pertaining to upcoming local, state, and federal government elections.

Advisor: Michael Deaver, mdeaver@sierracollege.edu

We are a chapter of PSI BETA (National Honor Society specifically for psychology majors at community colleges) and our goal is to provide an enthusiastic and inspirational atmosphere in which all students and /or faculty members can further their knowledge and interest in psychology.

Advisors: Robin Akawi, rakawi@sierracollege.edu

To serve the community and each other, to connect the club and community, to strengthen minds, bodies, and leadership skills.

Advisors: Matthew Jewett, mjewett@sierracollege.edu and Corey Morgan, cmorgan7@sierracollege.edu

To foster leadership development through the coordination of educational and awareness projects thru mentoring and roundtable discussions.

Advisors: Reyes Ortega, reyesortega@sierracollege.edu

Meetings: We meet every Monday from 2:00pm-3:00pm at Room J-7 (located inside ASSC Office).

To promote club activities and events that are centered about activism, support groups, social activities, and/or tolerance and education.

Advisors: Tamal Wonnell, twonnell1@sierracollege.edu and Johnnie Terry, jterry@sierracollege.edu

Meetings: Join us every Tuesday from 12:30pm-2:00pm in the Pride Center (I 4) for our club meeting and free pizza.  

To promote the study and provide hands-on experience in the field of robotics by designing and building functional robots. Our main focus will be on participating in robot competitions and educating our members in all of the underlying technologies.

Their website: Sierra College Robotics Club

Advisor: Tony Osladil, tosladil@sierracollege.edu

To create community in addition to challenging Islamophobia as well as addressing any misconceptions toward religion.

Advisor: Jason File, jafile@gmail.com

The Secular Student Alliance empowers secular students to proudly express their identity, build welcoming communities, promote secular values, and set a course for lifelong activism. We envision a future in which secular students lead meaningful and fulfilling lives, thrive as valued members of society, and provide visionary leadership committed to humanistic ideals and critical inquiry.

Advisor: Rebecca Quinn, rquinn@sierracollege.edu

To assist and support international and ESL students who are living in a new culture. The club also facilitates TalkTimes and activities where multicultural students have the opportunities to interact with other students, make the most of their academic years in the USA, and have opportunities to work in a group and practice leadership.

Advisors: Ted Saur, tsaur@sierracollege.edu and Denise Saur, tsaur@sierracollege.edu

To promotes awareness, education and participation with the natural environment in group settings. It focuses on outdoor activities and physical activity as a means to enhance student participation, leadership and education.

Advisor: Jennifer Moore jmoore2@sierracollege.edu

To practice yoga, meditation, qi gong, and relaxation.

Advisor: Janet Rankin, jrankin5@sierracollege.edu

Our purpose is to promote a better understanding of the Bible and discern the teaching of the Bible from rules taught by man.

Advisor: Lisa Rosen-Aydlett, lrosen@sierracollege.edu