Student Senate

Making a Difference

The Student Senate provides students with the opportunities to participate in the college’s shared governance process, to work with the Sierra College community to develop activities, support programs and services that promote student success and enhance our campus community.

You will find being a member of the Student Senate is both rewarding and demanding at the same time. The skills you develop working with the faculty and staff on campus, you will use long after you leave Sierra College.

The Student Senate is responsible for an annual working budget of over $275,000 in program funds. Thank you for your support of the Associated Students!

Meeting Times

Everyone is welcome to join a Student Senate meeting. During the semester the Senate meets Thursdays from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m. in the Board Room in the LRC on the Rocklin Campus.

Faculty of the Year

The “Faculty of the Year” award is to acknowledge those professors who go beyond simply lecturing students; they bring learning alive. They are more than just professors; they are role models and mentors in and out of the classroom.

Each year the Student Senate selects nominated professors as “Faculty Members of the Year” for each of the four campuses.

To all Professors, Past, Present, and Future

You challenged us to reach heights we did not think possible, you pushed us when needed and taught us to believe in our dreams. Thank you for your time, energy and enthusiasm you made a huge impact on the students of Sierra College.

2016-17 Faculty of Year

Rocklin Campus

  • Katharine Campi, Psychology
  • Sue Kurnett, Chemistry
  • Dan Balaguy, Math

Nevada County Campus

  • Jennifer Hurst-Crabb, Full-time faculty
  • Natasha Palumbo, Part-time faculty

These faculty members will be presented with a plaque from the Associated Students at the fall 2017 Faculty Breakfast.

Contact the Student Senate Advisor and Campus Life Coordinator for more information.

Rocklin Campus J 7

  • Phone: (916) 660-7380
  • Fax: (916) 630-4514
  • Fall and Spring Hours
    M-Th: 8:30am - 5:00pm

Nevada County Campus N5 104