Campus Clubs

Clubs are a way for students to connect with with people that share similar interests. Clubs are supported by the Associated Students with access to campus facilities, Associated Student funding, and much more! Being part of a club is a great way to find a place to belong and have fun on campus.

Look below for our list of existing Rocklin clubs. Nothing here that interests you? Forming your own club is simple! Find out how to make a new club by stopping by the Campus Life Office (J7, next to the cafeteria).

Nevada County Campus Clubs are listed on their web page.

Our Campus Clubs

American Medical Student Association

Advisor: Shaunveer Chima, schima1@sierracollege.edu

To promote, encourage and provide membership services for physicians-in-training. To seek, develop and provide membership services to the physicians-in-training community. To provide members with up to date accurate information regarding required courses, application processes and transfer agreements for premedical students. To provide informal tutoring and premedical student related coursework assistance. To seek out and provide volunteer opportunities in relevant clinical and healthcare settings. Contact us at amsa.sc.chapter@gmail.com and follow us on Facebook!

American Sign Language

Advisor: Rachel Gerlis, rgerlis@sierracollege.edu

American Welding Society

Advisor: Bill Wenzel, bwenzel@sierracollege.edu

Astronomy

Advisor: David Dunn, ddunn@sierracollege.edu

To increase interest in Astronomy both from students and surrounding community members in the various activities that Sierra College has to offer.

Automotive

Advisor: Alex Wong, awong@sierracollege.edu

To educate students about the automobile industry, club projects and enrich student’s knowledge.

Badminton

Advisors: Rob Willson, rwillson@sierracollege.edu and Linda Belton, lbelton@sierracollege.edu

Beyond Diversity

Advisor: Jennifer Kattman, jkattman@sierracollege.edu

Business

Advisors: Anne Diamond, adiamond@sierracollege.edu and Jeff Jurach, jjurach@sierracollege.edu

To give students an opportunity to network and make friends with common interests, listen to guest speakers from the business community, and experience opportunities for personal growth and career development.

Meetings are held the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month from 4:00 to 5:00 in B-5.

Chem

Advisors: Rhiannon Porter, rporter@sierracollege.edu and Sue Kurnett, skurnett@sierracollege.edu

CHOICES (Connecting Health Options, Individual Choices and Educational Services)

(Nevada County Campus)
Advisor: Joe Cavanaugh, jcavanaugh@sierracollege.edu

Computer Engineering

Advisor: Barry Brown, bbrown@sierracollege.edu

Drama

Advisor: Scott Adams, sadams14@sierracollege.edu

Dream

Advisor: Sandi Escobar, sescobar@sierracollege.edu

Early Childhood Education (ECE)

Advisors: Debra Eastman, deastman@sierracollege.edu and Shelly Boucher, mboucher@sierracollege.edu and Lori Kearney, lcapaul@sierracollege.edu

Economics

Advisor: Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu

Environmentally Concerned Organization of Students (ECOS)

Advisor: Shawna Martinez, smartinez@sierracollege.edu

To support and promote environmental advocacy, sustainability, stewardship and education.

Meetings are held every Monday at 1 p.m. in S-110, Sewell Hall.

Evidence Bible

Advisor: Dan Knepp, dknepp@sierracollege.edu

Fashion

Advisors: Diane Higashi, dhigashi@sierracollege.edu and Kellie Schulz, kschulz@sierracollege.edu

Feminist Action

Advisor: Megan Seely, mseely@sierracollege.edu

French

Advisor: Laurence Lambert, llambert@sierracollege.edu

To increase awareness of, and participation in, the French-speaking community – locally as well as around the globe. We achieve this goal through regular meetings and planned events that connect students and faculty with the culture and language of the francophone world. Our philosophy is defined by the “Three Fs” (fun, friendship, and French), and everything we do as a club reflects these values.

Grace and Truth

Advisor: Ron Morris, rmorris8@sierracollege.edu

To teach the Bible to college students through the dissemination of biblical literature, personal and group contact and study of the biblical text.

Humanities

Advisor: Jason File, jfile@sierracollege.edu

Intervarsity Christian Fellowship

Advisor: Randy Snook rsnook@sierracollege.edu and Sue Kurnett skurnett@sierracollege.edu
To establish and advance at Sierra College a witnessing community of students and faculty who follow Jesus as Savior and Lord: growing in love for God, God’s Word, God’s people of every ethnicity and culture, and God’s purpose in the world.

KSCM

Advisor: Nicholas Zoffel, nzoffel@sierracollege.edu

Marketing Club

President: Nathan Tran, ntran6@student.sierracollege.edu

Meeting are on the 2nd and the 4th Wednesday of the month. The first meeting will be on Sep 14.

Math

Advisor: Dan Balaguy, dbalaguy@sierracollege.edu

Meditation, Consciousness, and Lucid Dreams 

Advisor: Richard Valdez, rvaldez@sierracollege.edu

Microbiology

Advisor: Laura Brahce lbrahce@sierracollege.edu and Warren Place, wplace@sierracollege.edu

Model U.N.

Advisor: Michael Deaver, mdeaver@sierracollege.edu

Music

Advisor: Greg McLaughlin, gmclaughlin@student.sierracollege.edu

To create an environment that will allow musicians a place to promote collaborations and constructive criticism.

Native American

Advisors: Matt Archer, marcher@sierracollege.edu and Tamara Cheshire, tcheshire1@sierracollege.edu

“I LOVE having the support of the Native American Club! I feel like I’m not alone. Especially speaking with other N.A. students who are in the process of finding their native identities. Having the support of native staff & students is amazing!” —Choctaw, Cherokee, & Celtic

Philosophy

Advisor: Edward Haven, ehaven@sierracollege.edu

To encourage students to join others like them in exploring personal philosophy and working together to spread them into our community.

Phi Theta Kappa

Advisor: Jason File, jfile@sierracollege.edu

The promotion of scholarship, the development of leadership and service and cultivation of fellowship among qualified students at Sierra College.

Physics and Engineering Club

Advisor: Phillip Pattengale, ppattengale@sierracollege.edu

To promote interaction and support among students who love science, math, physics and engineering.

Political Science

Advisor: Michael Deaver, mdeaver@sierracollege.edu

To see that Sierra College becomes an environment of students that are politically concerned.

Programming and Software Engineering

Advisor: Tim McGowen, tmcgowen@sierracollege.edu

Project Unity

Advisor: Tanya Times, ttimes@sierracollege.edu

Psychology

Advisors: Robin Akawi rakawi@sierracollege.edu and Mieke San Julian, msanjulian@sierracollege.edu

Public Safety

Advisor: Matthew Jewett, mjewett@sierracollege.edu and Corey Morgan, cmorgan7@sierracollege.edu

Puente Club

Advisor: Reyes Ortega, reyesortega@sierracollege.edu

To foster leadership development through the coordination of educational and awareness projects thru mentoring and roundtable discussions.
We meet every Monday from 2:00pm-3:00pm at Room J-7 (located inside ASSC Office).

Rainbow Alliance

Advisor: Johnnie Terry, terry@sierracollege.edu and Stephanie Coday, scoday@sierracollege.edu

Supports activism, support groups, social activities and/or tolerance and education.

Robotics

Advisor: Tony Osladil, tosladil@sierracollege.edu

To promote the study and provide hands-on experience in the field of robotics by designing and building functional robots. Our main focus will be on participating in robot competitions and educating our members in all of the underlying technologies.

Rotaract

Advisor: Todd Jensen, tjensen@sierracollege.edu

Secular Student Alliance

Advisor: Rebecca Quinn, rquinn@sierracollege.edu

The Secular Student Alliance empowers secular students to proudly express their identity, build welcoming communities, promote secular values, and set a course for lifelong activism. We envision a future in which secular students lead meaningful and fulfilling lives, thrive as valued members of society, and provide visionary leadership committed to humanistic ideals and critical inquiry.

Sierra International Life

Advisor: Ted Saur, tsaur@sierracollege.edu

To assist and support international and ESL students who are living in a new culture.  The club also facilitates TalkTimes and activities where multicultural students have the opportunities to interact with other students, make the most of their academic years in the USA, and have opportunities to work in a group and practice leadership.

Sierra Outdoor Recreation

Advisor: Richard Valdez, rvaldez@sierracollege.edu

Promotes awareness, education, and participation with the natural environment in group settings.

Student Nurses Association 

Advisor: Sabina Karr, skarr@sierracollege.edu

To collaborate as future and existing registered nurses, to convey standards, ethics, and skills needed as responsible, accountable and committed leaders and members of the profession. Service: serve communities local & abroad.  Collaboration: collaborate educationally and professionally, as classmates, with faculty, and as nurses with various organizations within our communities. Leadership: develop leaders in nursing ethically, socially, educationally and politically.

Students Against Poverty

Advisor: Christian Jardine, cjardine@sierracollege.edu 

Students for Life

Advisor: Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu

Sustainable Ag Society

Advisor: Patti Kiehl, pkiehl@sierracollege.edu and Kurt Voigt, kvoigt@sierracollege.edu

Veteran Cadre

Advisor: Blake Rood, brood@sierracollege.edu

Wolverettes Dance

Advisor: Tanya Times, ttimes@sierracollege.edu

Young Americans for Liberty

Advisor: Michael Mace, mmace@sierracollege.edu